I just have to say that I’m really becoming aware of how closely linked conflict and panic are in my life.

Conflict of the slightest type – someone is mad, not even at me – can cause me to have heart palpitations, shallow breathing, and a fear that something dire is going to happen.

Usually nothing happens. I don’t live in a terribly chaotic style, nor am I in a war zone, a flood plain or near the San Andreas Fault. But when conflict is present I get anxious. My fear causes mental chaos. Conflict seems to suggest that some conflagration of a personal and immense nature will …. what? Destroy my life? Who knows…. I haven’t gotten it all figured out yet.

But I am able to see yet another direct correlation between events in the outer world and my reaction to them. And how this connection can lead me into panic.

More later when I try the “dog fear” suggestions on regular, run-of-the-mill conflict!

