Like Cindy mentioned, I’ve also been quite busy lately, and this has impeded my ability to post as often as I’d like. But I’d be lying if I said that I haven’t also been lazy. I blame it on the weather (probably just a scapegoat, but we all need them, right?).

I live outside the Washington D.C. area, and it’s been bitter cold here the past week or so. The weather is really irrelevant, but I’m a human and we humans aren’t designed for cold weather… at least not physically. We’re intelligent enough to create clever ways of surviving the cold (clothes and fire being two of the most notable), but our skin is largely bare. We’re generally tall, slender, and have few natural adaptations to severe cold weather. We’re designed for warm climates, the tropics and subtropics. Imagine: remove your clothes and forget about fire. Where could you survive? Not D.C., unless you’re nomadic. If you think about it, all of life revolves around heat. Heat is just energy, and you need energy to keep your organs functioning. Without heat, you die. Simple as that.

It was 8 degrees the other morning. With the wind-chill, it felt like -7. That’s unnatural. Unnatural.

As a result, I hereby reserve the right to be lazy. I’ve often considered moving to Florida, but I’d likely be trading one problem for another. Instead of bitter cold I’d be dealing with hurricanes, floods, tornados, and big ass bugs. I’m not arachnophobic, but no spider should be bigger than my hand (I’m talking to you Florida Huntsman Spider). That too is unnatural.

Anyway, I’ve been ripe with ideas about some things I’d like to share with you. So as soon the temperatures creep back above freezing, maybe my brain will thaw and I’ll get back to regular posting. Until then… stay warm.

