I am heading out tomorrow for a week’s retreat. This is something that I tried for the first time last year. It was a wonderful experience.

I set aside a week. No phone. No computer. I bought enough groceries for 2 meals a day, and stayed away from sugars and processed foods. I took books, paper, pens and the laptop if I wanted to write really fast! I also took some rudimentary art supplies. Then, I headed down to the beach which is about an hour from my house.

Out of that retreat last year came a flood of creative writing that resulted in two published stories this past year. I also created two stained glass window mosaics from which I continue to get daily pleasure.

I also learned that my family can survive without me for a full week. So can my email. And I can live without “being available” by phone and computer. The rejuvenative effects of that retreat lasted about 9 months. And, I’m ready for another!

This kind of self-care is one of the ways that I continue to recover the “good life” from anxiety and panic. This kind of peace, slowing down and making space for myself is the life experience that I can continue to create INSIDE my head and heart no matter where I am.

And that reduces panic, anxiety, fear and chaos.

So I bid you all a fond farewell for seven days — and look forward to returning refreshed, renewed and reflective!

Be well.

