Christmas can be lethal for producing stress and anxiety. For some strange reason, it doesn’t seem to affect me this way though, which is quite amazing considering I am generally someone who will find any excuse to get stressed!

So I have been thinking about why I don’t get anxious at this time.   

I have come to realise that I am not responsible for everyone’s happiness. I can provide a nice venue, and hopefully it will be a sunny hot day and we can sit in the sun, relax, eat and chat.

I have stopped inviting people I don’t like, (but always felt I should).

I don’t provide huge amounts of food – everyone brings something and it’s usually a wonderfully ecclectic mix of tastes and gastronomic experiences!

That’s it really, I was hoping for something a bit more insightful when I started writing this, but maybe that’s why it works, as often the most simple ideas are the ones that are the most successful. 

I wish everyone a (hopefully) anxiety free Christmas, and time for feeling some peacefulness and joy.  Although I’m not one for New Years resolutions (because I never keep them), I have realised that I like this holiday period to think about what is important to me, and how I can look forward to a new year.

Thank you to everyone who takes the time to write, read and comment on the We Worry Blog.  It feels so good to be part of a wider network of interesting and committed people, and I wish you all the best for the New Year. 

Have a look at the link to flickr and some rather lovely old New Zealand Christmas cards produced by our National Library.

 Meri Kirihimete

